Main Menu


Visitors Counter

mod_vvisit_counterThis week34
mod_vvisit_counterLast week458
mod_vvisit_counterThis month1143
mod_vvisit_counterLast month1840
mod_vvisit_counterAll days151809

Today: Jan 21, 2018
History or Overview


At independence, Kayunga District was located in the Buganda region of Uganda, was part of the East Mengo region with its headquarters in Luwero which were later shifted to Lugazi .Later it was divided into North, Central  and Southern Districts of Buganda. Kayunga was originally part of the 3 Buganda counties (masaaza) that i.e Bugerere, Kyagwe and Buvuma which formed Mukono District .In December 2000 , Bugerere county was constituted into Kayunga District.

Like most other Ugandan districts, it was named after its 'chief town', Kayunga town council


Kayunga borders with 8  districts, including Amolator District to the north, Buyende District to the northeast, Kamuli District to the east, Jinja District to the southeast, Buikwe District to the south, Mukono District to the southwest, Luweero District to the west, Nakasongola District to the northwest. The district H.Q. is situated at Ntenjeru hill, 2km from Kayunga town.

Administratively, Kayunga district is divided into two counties. Ntenjeru county is located at the district H.Q. whereas Bbaale County has its headquarters at Bbaale in the northern extreme of the district. The district has 8 sub-counties, one town council , 61 parishes and 367 villages.
Kayunga district has 3 political constituencies i.e Bbaale, Ntenjeru South and Ntenjeru North each represented by a Member of Parliament and the district Women constituency represented by a Woman Member of Parliament.

The leadership is entrusted in the District Executive Council, composed of: [3]

  • District Chairperson / Secretary for Technical Services  : Mr  . Serwanga Tom
  • District Vice Chairman/ Secretary for Production & Natural Resources : Mr . Musisi Kiwanuka Charles
  • District Secretary for Finance & Administration:  Mr . Kalema Edward
  • District Secretary for Health & Community Based Services : Mr. Kizito Samwiri

    The Office of the President is represented by

  • Resident District Commissioner  :  Ms Birungi Rose
  • Deputy Resident District Commissioner : Mr Were Yahaya


According to the 2002 population census, it was found out that Kayunga district has a total population of 297,081 people, of which 144,609 are male and 152,472 are female. The urbanization level is 6.7% indicating that the majority of the population lives in rural areas. At present the gender ratio is 94.9 males to 100 females.


Kayunga district has both tarmac and murram roads. It has a total of 48km of tarmac from Sezibwa bridge to Nyinze in Kangulumira sub-county on the boundary between Mukono and Jinja district
A number of programs such as the Community Agricultural Infrastructural Improvement Programme (CAIIP) Uganda Road Fund (URF) , Poverty Action Fund and District Development Project have supported the district in the maintenance and rehabilitation of roads.


The Tel-communication sector in Kayunga has gradually developed. Primarily the district is connected to the MTN , Warid, Airtel, K-2, orange and UTL service Network. Within the town, radio Sauti Fm,  local FM radio broadcasting stations and megaphones  are effective in spreading of information


Agriculture is the main economic activity in Kayunga district and represents 97% of the total employment. Kayunga practices mainly 2 types of agriculture that is crop farming and livestock farming or animal husbandry. The good climate, fertile soils, rainfall which peaks in March-May and October-November and huge lands makes agriculture one of the best alternatives for the population Kayunga district.
Today Kayunga is the leading producer of high quality pineapples in Uganda and 88% population is engaged in production of coffee, cassava, matooke (plantains), pineapples, , maize, millet, watermelon, potatoes and passion fruits.

Recently the District council approved a production road map that will help the district in the revival of its lost glory as a coffee producing area through the rehabilitation of old coffee trees and supply of elite colonial coffee seedlings to farmers.

The road map will also focus on promotion of fish farming through pond and fish farming, improvement of cattle breeds through provision of artificial insermination services to farmers and bee farming gerared towards creation of both income generating activities and making communities food secure.


The district has one government hospital at Kayunga, 2 sub-district health centers each with a maternity theatre and a resident doctor; 8 sub-county health centres i.e H.C III and 6 parish health centres i.e H.C II.
Kayunga Hospital is the major government aided hospital in the district with 100 average beds occupancy.
Presently it has 4 Resident Doctors and 140 staff members. It offers both therapeutic and precautionary services. The frequently diseases treated include malaria, diarrhea, upper respiratory tracts infections, mal-nutrition and HIV/ Aids.


Kayunga district has 157 government-aided primary schools and 50 private primary schools. It also has 8 government-aided secondary schools. Some of them include St. Kalemba, Bbaale, Galiraya Seed School Kanjuki, Kangulumira Public, Namagabi, Ndeeba and Busaana Secondary Schools.

The following points of interest are located within the town limits, or close to its edges: